The Journey to Belong

I scrolled through the photos of the gathering on Facebook. Smiling faces. Arms thrown around each other’s shoulders. It was my high school 20th reunion. Everyone looked so happy, as if they were having the time of their lives. And I wasn’t there. Emotional memories flooded in. Back then, I always felt just on the outside of friendship circles, desperately wanting to belong.

Two months later, a different gathering’s photographs filled my Facebook feed. Again, I found myself looking at photographs of smiling faces, of arms thrown around each other’s shoulders. But this time, in these photos, I was one of the smiling faces, and my shoulders were draped with the arms of beloved friends-who-are-family…

1499002_10152658971760283_1149540050_o

This post first appeared on SheLovesMagazine.com in January 2015. Click on this link if you are interested in my reflections on how I moved from being on the margins to belonging to amazing communities.

I am reposting it on my blog so that it reflects in my archives 🙂

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

