The Waiting Has Ended…

SO much has happened since my last post on how waiting is hard.

I am incredibly grateful to share that our waiting has ended. Our baby girl has finally come home.

The adjustment has been challenging but, as I have been sharing with people, I love her so much, and this hard, deep love I have for her carries me through the moments when I am frustrated or when i am wracked with self-doubt, insecurities, and waves of feelings of inadequacy.

What I am now fully realizing is that my journey in embracing surrender is going to deepen as I learn to trust God’s mother-heart to guide me to parent my daughter well.

As i celebrate my first Mother’s Day, I hold my joy in tension with the grief of the birth family who made my family possible. I reflected on this paradox – my greatest joy and their greatest sacrifice – over at SheLovesMagazine yesterday (I am re-posting it here for archival purposes). Here is an extract of the post. Click on this link to read the entire post over at SheLovesMagazine…

I have read the story of how Moses’ mother hid him in a basket and placed it in the river among the reeds on numerous occasions. For those who wear the lenses of liberation, this is the beginning of the story of the human partner in Israel’s liberation from Egypt. For those who wear the lenses of adoption, it’s the story of how Pharaoh’s daughter welcomes a Hebrew baby boy into her family.

I have recently acquired a new set of lenses. . . a mother’s eyes. When I read this story again, I saw a mother’s heart for the first time. Two months after being approved as prospective adoptive parents, our nine years of waiting finally came to an end last month when our little girl came home. Just in time for Mother’s Day.

A blessed Mother’s Day to all those who nurture and love and parent…

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Waiting Has Ended…

  1. brettfish May 10, 2015 at 8:38 am Reply

    So so great Nicole, was actually just thinking about you earlier so really cool to see this and trust this will be a deeply significant deeply joyful day for you.

    Strength and love
    brett fish

Leave a Reply

